AusCycling | How to watch the AusCycling Cyclist of the Year Awards

How to watch the AusCycling Cyclist of the Year Awards

LogoLogoNAT

This December, join AusCycling in celebrating the 2022 AusCycling Cyclist of the Year Awards, brought to you by Comwire IT.

The ‘Oppy Awards’, as they’re known, recognise the best sporting performances by AusCycling members over the past year. They include the prized Oppy Medal for overall cyclist of the year, which was won last year by Olympic BMX Freestyle champion Logan Martin.

This year, watch the Awards show live, hosted by Matt Keenan, who will be joined by AusCycling CEO Marne Fechner.


Live Stream

2022 AusCycling Cyclist of the Year Awards brought to you by Comwire IT

What: 2022 AusCycling Cyclist of the Year Awards brought to you by Comwire IT

Date: Wednesday, December 14

Time: 7:30pm AEDT / 7:00pm ACDT / 6:30pm AEST / 6:00pm ACST / 4:30pm AWST

Where to watch: AusCycling YouTube


Awards

  • Santini Cyclist of the Year – Sir Hubert Opperman Trophy and Oppy Medal

Discipline Awards (male and female)

  • HutSix BMX Racing Rider of the Year
  • Queensland Academy of Sport BMX Freestyle Rider of the Year
  • Shimano Cyclo-cross Cyclist of the Year
  • Zwift Esports Cyclist of the Year
  • Shimano Gravel Cyclist of the Year
  • Shimano Mountain Bike Rider of the Year
  • Kask Para-cyclist of the Year (Road)
  • Argon 18 Para-cyclist of the Year (Track)
  • Vittoria Track Cyclist of the Year
  • Federation University Road Cyclist of the Year

Age Category Awards (male and female)

  • KOM Financial Advice Masters Cyclist of the Year
  • BikeSportz Junior Cyclist of the Year

Honour Roll

The Sir Hubert Opperman Trophy has been presented to the Australian Cyclist of the Year since 1958.

Cycling Australia, now AusCycling, took custodianship of the Award in 1996 and it is now presented to the best all-round performing cyclist each year who also displays a high level of sportsmanship and is an ambassador for the sport of cycling.

  • 2021: Logan Martin
  • 2020: Richie Porte
  • 2019: Caleb Ewan
  • 2018: Rohan Dennis
  • 2017: Michael Matthews
  • 2016: Mathew Hayman
  • 2015: Rohan Dennis
  • 2014: Simon Gerrans
  • 2013: Caroline Buchanan
  • 2012: Anna Meares

Click to see the full Oppy Medal honour roll.

Shimano - It's A New Day

Stay up to date

Our free newsletters provide the latest cycling news and events direct to your inbox

Subscribe Now!
Vittoria
Major Partners
UCIAISShimanoSantiniAustralian Sports Commission
Government Partners
Sports Partners
High Performance Partners
Research & Technology Partners
Business Partners