14 cyclists selected for inclusive Virtus Oceania Asia Games


AusCycling is pleased to announce the cycling team that will compete for Australia in the 2022 Virtus Oceania Asia Games (OA Games 2022) in Brisbane this November.

The OA Games 2022 is an international competition for elite athletes with an intellectual impairment.

This year’s OA Games will be the first such event for the Oceania and Asia region. They will feature up to 800 athletes and officials from Asia, the Pacific, New Zealand and Australia.

The program includes track cycling, which will be held at Anna Meares Velodrome, and road cycling, which will take place at the RACQ Mobility Centre in Mount Cotton.

Australia’s 14-strong team for the Games includes multiple national champions Georgia Powning and Nathan Broeren.

Nathan Broeren will represent Australia in the 2022 Virtus Oceania Asia Games (OA Games 2022) for athletes with an intellectual impairment
Nathan Broeren is a multiple national champion on track and road. (Photo: John Veage)

AusCycling first added national championships for cyclists with an intellectual impairment in 2020. That was done with the support of Sport Inclusion Australia, which will deliver the inaugural Games.

Kipp Kaufmann, AusCycling Executive General Manager – Sport, said, “We’re pleased to be supporting the inaugural OA Games and continuing to grow our partnership with Sport Inclusion Australia in providing opportunities for people with an intellectual impairment to represent Australia."

Montana Whiteley and Georgia Powning will represent Australia in the 2022 Virtus Oceania Asia Games (OA Games 2022) for athletes with an intellectual impairment
Montana Whiteley (left) and Georgia Powning (right) have been selected. (Photo: Con Chronis)

Robyn Smith, Sport Inclusion Australia Chief Executive Officer, said, “We look forward to inspiring the next generation of cyclists through our strong partnership with AusCyling and together we will continue to showcase the best of the best in Australia at international events, where the focus is on ability and the ease with which cyclists can be included at all levels."

The Games will be held from November 5–11.

Australian cyclists – 2022 Virtus Oceania Asia Games

  • Carlo Manolitsas (VIC, Preston Cycling Club)
  • Andre Ascui (VIC, Preston Cycling Club)
  • Finn Harvey (VIC, Preston Cycling Club)
  • Harry Mezger (VIC, Preston Cycling Club)
  • Jamieson Whiteley (VIC, Preston Cycling Club)
  • Oliver Hutchison* (QLD, Lifecycle Cycling Club)
  • David Frazer (QLD, Townsville Cycle Club)
  • Nathan Glarvey (QLD, Balmoral Cycle Club)
  • Cameron Marshall (VIC, Preston Cycling Club)
  • Nathan Broeren (VIC, Brunswick Cycling Club)
  • Georgia Powning (VIC, Preston Cycling Club)
  • Chloe Turner (VIC, St Kilda Cycling Club)
  • Molly Thatcher (VIC, Preston Cycling Club)
  • Montana Whiteley (VIC, Preston Cycling Club)

*Subject to meeting the classification eligibility criteria.

Feature photo: Con Chronis

Shimano S-Phyre

Stay up to date

Our free newsletters provide the latest cycling news and events direct to your inbox

Subscribe Now!
Shimano S-Phyre
Major Partners
UCIAISShimanoSantiniAustralian Sports Commission