AusCycling | World's best deliver at 2020 AusCycling BMX Freestyle National Championships

World's best deliver at 2020 AusCycling BMX Freestyle National Championships


After a disrupted start due to weather, the first ever BMX Freestyle National Championships under AusCycling saw some of Australia’s best across a range of age groups perform under the lights of the Village.

Logan City's Beenleigh’s BMX Club was due to host the national championships however due to persistent rain throughout the day, the event was moved to The Village BMX Park in Brisbane for a later start time of 6PM.

The earlier events saw some of Australia’s youngest and bravest produce some marvelous runs, with Keegan Pryor in the under 15’s and Will Green in the under 12’s taking out the title in their respective age groups. In the 15+ men’s final, Samual Grace produced a score of 90 to take out the national title.

It then came to the elite with reigning world champion Brandon Loupos, 2017 world champion Logan Martin, and women's world number six Natalya Diehm all hitting the ramps.

At the end of the qualifying, Martin was leading the group with a score of 84 with Loupos in second and Jaie Toohey in third after all putting on fantastic runs for the small crowd in Brisbane.

However, in the end, Martin was too good on the day, grabbing a huge score of 94 in the final to seal his place on top of the podium. Toohey moved up one spot from qualifying to secure second and in third place was Josh Matthews with a score of 87, one behind Toohey’s 88.

Martin was thrilled the way he rode and pleased to back up his 2019 success at the national championships.

“I was happy with my first run, producing a 720-bar spin on the box but I still had more to give which I managed to do in my second run with two bar spins and a 720. My first run I held back to get a solid run on the board, so in the second run I got it done early which boosted my confidence a lot”

“It was great to see the young kids performing tonight with a decent ability, the talent in younger kids today is unreal.”

It was a positive run out for Brisbane’s own Diehm, riding with the pro males and producing some wonderful runs throughout the night. Diehm backing up her 2019 National title to make it two in a row.

AusCycling thanks all the riders for their flexibility and patience due to the change of venues and times.

More photos and videos to be released in the coming days.


Men’s Elite Final

1: Logan Martin

2: Jaie Toohey

3: Josh Matthews

Women’s Elite

1: Natalya Diem

Under 12 Final

1: Will Green

2: Koby Clayton

3: Nataniel Mackellar

4: Emilio Martin

Under 15 Boy’s

1: Keegan Pryor

2: William Spedding

3: William Fraser

4: Kurtis Morgan

5: Kobie Cunningham

6: Miles Eckhartd

15+ Men’s Final

1: Samuel Grace

2: Jak Mohr

3: Cooper Wilson

4: Joshua Bloomer

5: Lleyton Sanderson

Meet Ride Nation

Stay up to date

Our free newsletters provide the latest cycling news and events direct to your inbox

Subscribe Now!
Principal Partners
Sport AusAIS
Major Partners
Santini SMSScience in Sport
Broadcast Partners
Fox SportsSBS
Sports Partners
UCIAustralian Olympic CommitteeCommonwealth GamesParalympics AustraliaWollongong 2022
Our Sponsors