Nominate your AusCycling Cyclist of the Year


Who do you think was Australia's best cyclist of 2023?

Nominations are now open for the annual AusCycling Sport Performance Awards, which recognise excellence in competition over the previous season from December 2022 to November 2023.

The AusCycling Cyclist of the Year will receive the prestigious Oppy Medal and the Sir Hubert Opperman Trophy, which has been presented since 1958 to the year’s most outstanding all-round rider.

Last year, 2022 Giro d'Italia winner Jai Hindley added his name to the Oppy Medal honour roll after becoming the first Australian to win the Maglia Rosa and the second to win one of cycling's three Grand Tours.

From now until November 24, AusCycling is calling for nominations for men and women in the following categories:

Discipline Awards

  • BMX Racing Rider of the Year
  • BMX Freestyle Rider of the Year
  • Cyclo-cross Rider of the Year
  • Esports Cyclist of the Year
  • Gravel Rider of the Year
  • Mountain Bike Rider of the Year
  • Para-Cyclist of the Year (Road)
  • Para-Cyclist of the Year (Track)
  • Track Cyclist of the Year
  • Road Cyclist of the Year
  • Team of the Year

Age-based Category Awards

  • Masters Cyclist of the Year (BMX Racing, Mountain Bike, Road, Track)
  • Junior Cyclist of the Year (BMX Racing, Mountain Bike, Road, Track)

The winners of the discipline awards will be the finalists for the Oppy Medal. The winners will be announced in a virtual award ceremony in December.

Submit a nomination

Picture: Getty Images

AusBike Square Ad

Stay up to date

Our free newsletters provide the latest cycling news and events direct to your inbox

Subscribe Now!
AusBike ad
Major Partners
ARA GroupShimanoSantiniGWM