AusCycling | Champions Crowned

Champions Crowned


The final group of Champion of Champions were decided on the final day of the road race for the 2020 Masters Road Nationals Championships held on the Gold Coast.

The fields were again faced with wet conditions around the course

It was a bold race from Matthew Lambert in the Masters Men 1, attacking only three laps into their 91.8km ride when the pace slackened off.

Joined by race favourite Troy Herfoss (Gold Coast Cycle Club), the duo put more than 4 minutes into the chasing pack, when Herfoss flatted on a climb trying to make a break from his rival.

That would leave Lambert to finish off the race by himself as he cruised solo to the line +3:37min in front of Kyle Godson, who would take home the overall title after four days.

"I wanted to make it hard from the start just to try and spread the group out."

"I managed to keep that time gap of three minutes on a tough course which I thought suited me," Lambert said after the podium presentation.

The final race of the day was the Masters 5 men and while Tim Hoy rode away with the gold medal, the overall title would be a tight one with Peter Gwynne winning Champion of Champions on a countback from Nick Miller.

Gwynne with a stronger result in the TT giving him the green and gold jersey.

There was no need to check the books for the Masters Women 1 as Alana Forster made it a clean sweep in her category with her third gold medal of the championships and the Australian jersey to boot.

"It was such a tough course out there but credit to all the girls who kept battling away and certainly gave me something to work for," she said.

Sixty-eight races were held across the four days of competition which started with the Time Trial in the Tallebudgera Valley, before riders encountered head winds and searing heat on Thursday as part of the Criterium racing at Luke Harrop Memorial Criterium Centre and rounding it out with a windy and wet road race at Guanaba.



Masters Women 3: Laurelea MOSS (Coffs Harbour CC)

Masters Women 2: Theresa WALDBURGER (Logan City Cycling Club)

Mastesr Women 1: Alana FORSTER (Vikings Cycling Club ACT)


Masters Men 5: Tim HOY (Gold Coast Cycle Club)

Masters Men 4: Chris LING (Dulwich Hill BC)

Masters Men 3: Ben MANSON (University of Queensland CC)

Masters Men 2: Andrew FRIEBE (Norwood)

Masters Men 1: Matthew LAMBERT (University of Queensland CC)

Champion of Champions


Masters Women 4:

Masters Women 1: Alana FORSTER (Vikings Cycling Club ACT)

Masters Women 2: Erin BERTRAM (Geelong Cycling Club)

Masters Women 3: Laurelea MOSS (Coffs Harbour CC)

Masters Women 4: Jenny PETTENON (Hawthorn Cycling Club)

Masters Women 5: Bizzy BUTTERWORTH (Mornington Cycling Club)

Masters Women 6: Deborah LATOUF (Sunshine Coast CC)

Mastesr Women 7: Sue TIERNEY (Alpine Cycling Club)


Masters Men 1: Kyle GODSON (University of Queensland CC)

Masters Men 2: Andrew FRIEBE (Norwood)

Masters Men 3: Antonino CALABRO (Hamilton Wheelers Cycling Club)

Masters Men 4: Chris LING (Dulwich Hill BC)

Masters Men 5: Peter GWYNNE (Gold Coast Cycling Club)

Masters Men 6: Jason FORD (Sunshine Coast CC)

Masters Men 7: Alan NELSON (St Kilda Cycling Club)

Masters Men 8: Roger CULL (Sydney CC)

Masters Men 9: John HAMPSON (Coral Isle Cyclists)

Masters Men 10: Glen ION (Murwillumbah Cycle Club)

Full Results HERE

Meet Ride Nation

Stay up to date

Our free newsletters provide the latest cycling news and events direct to your inbox

Subscribe Now!
Principal Partners
Sport AusAIS
Major Partners
Santini SMSScience in Sport
Broadcast Partners
Fox SportsSBS
Sports Partners
UCIAustralian Olympic CommitteeCommonwealth GamesParalympics AustraliaWollongong 2022
Our Sponsors