AusCycling | TT Opens 2020 Masters RoadNats On The Gold Coast

TT Opens 2020 Masters RoadNats On The Gold Coast


One hundred and sixty riders from across the country locked handlebars in the Time Trial on the opening day of the AusCycling 2020 Masters Road National Championships held on the Gold Coast, Queensland.

The tight and winding roads around the Tallebudgera Valley were the first point of call for masters riders searching for the coveted green and gold championship jersey. The event, supported by the City of Gold Coast, saw some heavy hitters clip in for the 20km punisher with the likes of former Superbike World Champion Troy Bayliss and Australian Paralympic cyclist Emily Petricola.

While many were racing for the top step, 82 year old Gold Coast local Murray McGregor, who is battling prostrate and bone cancer, came away with the bronze medal in the Masters Men 10 and it's simply just being on the bike that keeps him going.

“When I’m on the bike I don’t feel those issues, they go away, and my doctors have told me not to get off the bike so I just get out and ride,” he said with a beaming smile after the podium presentation.

“I’ve got the criterium tomorrow and and road race Friday so it’s a tough few days.”

Masters 1 Women’s winner Alana Forster, who finished in a time of 26:37.23, made the most of the tailwind on the way home as she topped speeds of 41.2km, a goal heading into the morning race.

“This course had a bit of everything. Up, down, blind corners. It wasn’t out and back by any means it was a challenging one and some great women racing.”

Day two will see plenty more riders line up for the Criterium on the purpose-built course at Runaway Bay.

Full results can be found HERE



Masters Women 8: Julia EMBLIN (Sunshine Coast Cycling Club)

Masters Women 7: Sue TIERNEY (Alpine Cycling Club)

Masters Women 6: Deborah LATOUF (Sunshine Coast CC)

Masters Women 5: Bizzy BUTTERWORTH (Mornington Cycling Club)

Masters Women 4: Jenny PETTENON (Hawthorn Cycling Club)

Masters Women 3: Nadia YOUNAN (Sydney Uni Velo Club) Masters

Women 2: Erin BERTRAM (Geelong Cycling Club) Masters

Women 1: Alana FORSTER (Vikings Cycling Club ACT)


Masters Men 10: Glen ION (Murwillumbah Cycle Club)

Masters Men 9: John HAMPSON (Coral Isle Cyclists)

Masters Men 8: Roger CULL (Sydney CC)

Masters Men 7: Alan NELSON (St Kilda Cycling Club)

Masters Men 6: Joe SPANO (Carnegie Caulfield CC)

Masters Men 5: Peter GWYNNE (Gold Coast Cycling Club)

Masters Men 4: Peter MILOSTIC (Penrith CC)

Masters Men 3: Antonino CALABRO (Hamilton Wheelers Cycling Club)

Masters Men 2: Andrew FRIEBE (Norwood)

Masters Men 1: Matthew LAMBERT (University of Queensland CC)

Meet Ride Nation

Stay up to date

Our free newsletters provide the latest cycling news and events direct to your inbox

Subscribe Now!
Principal Partners
Sport AusAIS
Major Partners
Santini SMSScience in Sport
Broadcast Partners
Fox SportsSBS
Sports Partners
UCIAustralian Olympic CommitteeCommonwealth GamesParalympics AustraliaWollongong 2022
Our Sponsors