AusCycling | Australian Cycling Team Athlete Memberships 2020/2021

Australian Cycling Team Athlete Memberships 2020/2021


AusCycling is pleased to confirm the athletes who will receive memberships to the Australian Cycling Team for 2021.

Significantly, the 2021 memberships are the first to be announced under the banner of AusCycling. Formed in November 2020, AusCycling represents all cycling disciplines and riders throughout Australia from club, recreational and commuter riders through to the Australian Cycling Team.

Memberships to the Team are limited and are only provided to athletes who have achieved, or have the potential to achieve, success at the highest level with 65 athletes confirmed across the disciplines of BMX Freestyle (3), BMX Racing (4), Mountain Bike Cross Country (1), Para-cycling (15), Road (13), Track Sprint and Endurance (15), and Podium Potential Academy (14).

Athletes are categorised as Podium, Podium Ready and Podium Potential based on their current level of performance, and their future potential to achieve Podium Performances in Olympic events at major championships. Support for the athletes varies according to the discipline. About the Australian Cycling Team Pathway.

Memberships are reviewed annually following the pinnacle event for the year, which for 2020 was to be the Tokyo Olympic and Paralympic Games. With the COVID-19 Pandemic causing significant disruptions and cancellations to the 2020 sporting calendar, the pinnacle event for 2021 will be the rescheduled Tokyo Games.

The Podium Potential Academy, now into its third year of operation, will focus on the long-term development of Track Sprint and Endurance athletes and success at the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games, the 2024 Olympic Games and beyond.

Also underpinning the Team is the national High-Performance Network of state institutes and academies which play a vital role in the athlete pathway by identifying and supporting a further crop of nearly 100 categorised Emerging and Developing athletes across Australia.

Simon Jones - Performance Director, Australian Cycling Team

"I want to take this opportunity to congratulate the selected athletes, as places in the Australian Cycling Team are limited and this often means making hard decisions. To the athletes not selected, we encourage you to keep pushing and be ready for opportunities as we do review the memberships annually."

"2020 showed us that we must take our opportunities when we can, to be agile, to be resilient, and that change is a certainty. While 2021 is likely to be very similar, we remain optimistic about the future."

"Looking ahead, 2022 will be very exciting as we will have a home Road World Championships in Wollongong and the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham. Then in 2023, the first World Championships of cycling that integrates all disciplines of Para-cycling, BMX, Road, MTB and Track into a festival of cycling over two weeks."

About the Australian Cycling Team

The Australian Cycling Team (ACT) comprises athletes, coaches and performance support staff in Olympic and Paralympic cycling disciplines, underpinned by Australia's State and Territory High-Performance Network. Principal partners include the Australian Institute of Sport and Santini.

The ACT is part of AusCycling, the peak body for cycling in Australia. AusCycling is affiliated with the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) and partners with the Australian Olympic Committee; Commonwealth Games Australia and Paralympics Australia.

A full list of partners and supporters can be found here.

Athlete Memberships 2020/2021

BMX Racing
Agreement Period: 1 May 2020 - 30 April 2021
Lauren Reynolds WA Podium Ready
Anthony Dean SA Podium Ready
Saya Sakakibara NSW Podium Ready
Isaac Kennedy QLD Podium Potential
BMX Freestyle
Agreement Period: 1 December 2020 - 30 November 2021
Logan Martin QLD Podium
Brandon Loupos NSW Podium
Natalya Diehm QLD Podium Potential
MTB Cross-country
Agreement Period: 1 January 2021 - 31 July 2021
Rebecca McConnell ACT Podium
Agreement Period: 1 April 2020 - 31 March 2021
Carol Cooke (Road) VIC Podium
Alistair Donohoe (Road/Track) VIC Podium
David Nicholas (Track/Road) QLD Podium
Stuart Tripp (Road) VIC Podium Ready
Amanda Reid (Track) NSW Podium
Hannah Macdougall (Road) VIC Podium
Grant Allen (Road) SA Podium Ready
Paige Greco (Track/Road) SA Podium
Darren Hicks (Road/Track) SA Podium
Meg Lemon (Road/Track) SA Podium
Emily Petricola (Track/Road) VIC Podium
Emilie Miller (Road) NSW Podium
Gordon Allan (Track) NSW Podium
Stuart Jones (Road) NSW Podium
Kaitlyn Schurmann (Road) VIC Podium
Women's Road
Agreement Period: 1 January - 31 December 2021
Amanda Spratt NSW Podium
Brodie Chapman VIC Podium Ready
Grace Brown VIC Podium Ready
Sarah Roy NSW Podium Ready
Chloe Hosking ACT Podium Ready
Lucy Kennedy QLD Podium Ready
Sarah Gigante VIC Podium Potential
Men's Road
Agreement Period: 1 January - 31 December 2021
Rohan Dennis SA Podium
Michael Matthews ACT Podium
Caleb Ewan NSW Podium Ready
Jack Haig VIC Podium Ready
Simon Clarke VIC Podium Ready
Richie Porte TAS Podium Ready
Women's Track Endurance
Agreement Period: 1 May 2020 - 30 April 2021
Ashlee Ankudinoff NSW Podium
Georgia Baker TAS Podium
Annette Edmondson SA Podium
Alexandra Manly SA Podium
Maeve Plouffe SA Podium
Men's Track Endurance
Agreement Period: 1 May 2020 - 30 April 2021
Cameron Meyer WA Podium
Kelland O'Brien VIC Podium
Alexander Porter SA Podium
Leigh Howard VIC Podium
Samuel Welsford WA Podium
Lucas Plapp VIC Podium
Women's Track Sprint
Agreement Period: 1 May 2020 - 30 April 2021
Kaarle McCulloch NSW Podium
Men's Track Sprint
Agreement Period: 1 May 2020 - 30 April 2021
Matthew Glaetzer SA Podium
Nathan Hart ACT Podium
Matthew Richardson WA Podium
Agreement Period: 1 December 2020 - 30 November 2021
Alexandra Martin-Wallace QLD Podium Potential
Sophie Edwards SA Podium Potential
Ruby Roseman-Gannon VIC Podium Potential
Lauren Perry TAS Podium Potential
Chloe Moran SA Podium Potential
Conor Leahy WA Podium Potential
Joshua Duffy TAS Podium Potential
Graeme Frislie VIC Podium Potential
James Moriarty QLD Podium Potential
Jensen Plowright VIC Podium Potential
James Brister SA Podium Potential
Tom Cornish NSW Podium Potential
Leigh Hoffman SA Podium Potential
Kristina Clonan QLD Podium Potential

Meet Ride Nation

Stay up to date

Our free newsletters provide the latest cycling news and events direct to your inbox

Subscribe Now!
Principal Partners
Sport AusAIS
Major Partners
Santini SMSScience in Sport
Broadcast Partners
Fox SportsSBS
Sports Partners
UCIAustralian Olympic CommitteeCommonwealth GamesParalympics AustraliaWollongong 2022
Our Sponsors