AusCycling | Australian Cycling Team stars named in Milton #TissotNationsCup squad

Australian Cycling Team stars named in Milton #TissotNationsCup squad


AusCycling and the Australian Cycling Team have named a combination of young talents and experienced campaigners among a 14-member squad for the Milton stop of the 2022 Tissot UCI Track Nations Cup from May 12-15 in Canada.

Australian Cycling Team stars and Tokyo Olympians Matthew Glaetzer, Lucas Plapp, Alex Manly and Maeve Plouffe will all make their #TissotNationsCup debut over the next four days.

The quartet joins the in-form Matthew Richardson and Kristina Clonan, who have remained overseas following the opening round in Glasgow.

Kristina Clonan in action during the Glasgow #TissotNationsCup. Picture: More CADENCE

The Milton #TissotNationsCup also sees the highly anticipated return of Australia’s team pursuit squads at the international level, with the men’s endurance outfit high on confidence following their Oceania Championship victory versus New Zealand in April.

Three-time individual pursuit national champion and new national record holder Conor Leahy makes the trip to Milton, as do excitement machines Josh Duffy, James Moriarty and Graeme Frislie.

Leahy will partner Plapp in the men’s Madison and said he was eager to soak up the experience of top-level competition again after more than two years without racing overseas.

“We are all super keen for the next few days, we’ve had a solid lead into this one so hopefully we can put something on the track we are proud of and get a nice result,” Leahy said.

Conor Leahy
Conor Leahy has enjoyed an impressive start to the 2022 season. Picture: Michael Shippley

“We all have different goals for this trip, but I think everyone’s main priority at this one is the team pursuit.

“We have some big shoes to fill in the Australian men's team pursuit squad, so hopefully we can show that we are on track to stepping up to that level.

“There are a lot of contributing factors that make a TP day successful but hopefully at the end we can walk away with gold - that would be super rewarding and you don’t line up for anything else really.

“This track has thrown us some challenges because it’s so different to anything in Australia, but we are ready for the challenge and can’t wait to race again after a few years away from this scene.”

The women’s endurance team pursuit squad is equally as youthful and exciting as the men, with Chloe Moran, Sophie Edwards, Amber Pate and Alyssa Polites joining Plouffe in the possible line-up.

Australian Cycling Team squad for 2022 Tissot UCI Track Nations Cup 2 in Milton, Canada


  • Kristina Clonan (QLD)
  • Matthew Richardson (WA)
  • Matthew Glaetzer (SA)


  • Maeve Plouffe (SA)
  • Amber Pate (SA)
  • Alexandra Manly (SA)
  • Sophie Edwards (SA)
  • Alyssa Polites (VIC)
  • Chloe Moran (SA)
  • Lucas Plapp (VIC)
  • Conor Leahy (WA)
  • Josh Duffy (TAS)
  • James Moriarty (QLD)
  • Graeme Frislie (VIC)

Follow #TissotNationsCup

Follow #AusCyclingTeam

Pictures: Michael Shippley and More CADENCE

Stay up to date

Our free newsletters provide the latest cycling news and events direct to your inbox

Subscribe Now!
Principal Partners
Sport AusAIS
Major Partners
SantiniScience in SportComwireIT
Broadcast Partners
Fox SportsSBS
Sports Partners
UCIAustralian Olympic CommitteeCommonwealth GamesParalympics AustraliaOceania Cycling ConfederationWollongong 2022
Our Sponsors